Short talks · Uncategorized

SLEEPLESS

My roommate spent half an hour on the phone complaining how hungry she was, after complaining for another half hour about not knowing where to go for dinner.

12:47 AM. I hear drunk people laughing outside my window, constant construction noises, and impatient car horns. I listen to the air conditioner in my room, accompanied by the siren cutting through the sky. The whole city is condensed within the few miles outside my window. It’s like a freaking symphony.

Who do they think they are?!

Here I am, writing my ego.

I look outside the window. The color of the night sky makes me want to paint the ceiling blue. There were a few lights on from the buildings across the street. I bet the people behind them are pretending to be hardworking, like me.

I’m sleepless, like New York.

I’m sleepless because of New York.

Leave a Reply

